Is it Dinner or Supper??

My friends think it’s funny when I say “What are you having for supper tonight?”   “PPPPffffffttttt Supper? it’s called dinner Angie” so they tell me!
I have always said supper, what’s the big deal dinner, supper same difference right? 
I’m not thinking so guys, read on…..
 
I’ve done a little research:
 
Dinner is the main meal of the day, eaten in the evening or at midday
Middle English 1250-1300
Originally breakfast and then later lunch usually the main meal of the day, the time from midday to evening.   People started say din-din in 1905.
Are you ready for din-din gosh I’d rather say supper thank you. 🙂
 
 

Breakfast/Dinner….

 
 
Supper , the evening meal, often the principal meal of the day,
the last meal of the day” , “to eat the evening meal”
Middle English 1150-1475
 

Supper

 
I think I’ll stick with Supper since it seems to be the correct way of using the english language in describing what I eat at my “evening meal”. 🙂
 
for B and D. xo
 
3 thoughts on “Is it Dinner or Supper??

  1. I meet my girlfriends for Din-dins on a regular basis (the last meal of the day) which is, of course, suppertime. 🙂 I wonder when the term “Brunch” became fashionable. Does anyone EVER have Lupper? … or Linner?

  2. Pingback: The Supper Bell | SPUN

Leave a Reply

