Love you forever

It’s my son’s 26th birthday today.

I don’t see him as much as I’d like these days.

His birth was not an easy one,  I was young and my doctor was old, he went through quite a lot of trauma as did I, his beautiful little face was crooked and bruised, and me well….that’s another post.

We were both very lucky.

I remember never putting him down, he’d sleep with me, nap with me and, I always wanted to hold him close.

I also have 3 beautiful daughters, David was my first-born and only son.

I used to read him a story by Robert Munsch called “I’ll love you forever” it was published the year he was born in 1986.

and I began singing this phrase to him:

“I’ll love you forever I’ll like you for always As long as I’m living My baby you’ll be.”

As the story begins, a son has just been born. The story then continues through the life of the boy until he is a grown man. The mother continues to rock her son to sleep singing “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living my baby you’ll be.” Later, the role is reversed and he holds his elderly mother and says “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living my Mommy you’ll be.” At the very end of the story, the mother passes away and her son is the father of a little girl, rocking her to sleep; singing the same song that his mother used to sing to him.

I still love this book and know it by heart.

Happy Birthday David!!!

xo

7 thoughts on “Love you forever

  1. Happy Birthday David, you are thought of often and in the kindest ways. Know that you are forever loved for the sweet and fun loving guy you have always been.

Leave a Reply

