Tuesdays Totally useless bit of Information – The Queens Swans

I found this little bit of information while “surfing the net” yesterday.

Property of the Queen

“All The Swans In England Are Property Of The Queen.”

Being the Queen of England comes with some perks 😉

The Queen has the power to call an election, declare war, awarding of honours and the dissolution of Parliament.

The Queen also owns all wild swans living in open water – only the species called ‘mute’ swans. Other species of swans, and those owned by individuals are not owned by Her Majesty.
It is also not treason to kill a wild swan and it does not carry the death penalty, which is what many believe.


The Title “Queen of England” has not existed for over 300 years – she is Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

oh just one more thing ….

There are 7 different species of Swan:

Black Swan

Black-Necked Swan

Coscoroba Swan

Mute Swan

Trumpeter Swan

Tundra Swan

Whooper Swan

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays Totally useless bit of Information – The Queens Swans

  1. Pingback: No more wigeon, swan hunting in Dutch province | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Pingback: Good Bewick’s swans news | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s