The Laugh

beagle

I did a very bad thing
I laughed
It’s worse than that time in Beijing
when I laughed

It was in Gananoque while I was away
I was stuttering trying to say Gananoque
all that came out was Gana Gan Gana
a smart young man began to tease me
I gave him a smack
and we started to laugh

He was the boy who was walking
and while talking
leaned down to say hello to a dog
all of a sudden he was in a rather large fog
when the dog jumped up and bit him

He was telling me the tale
and I said without fail
Well I’m glad your ok
and
“What kind of dog was it”
he then said with a smirk
A Beagle with a really big tail

Well I just could not contain myself
I laughed
my heart now on the ice shelf
I then quickly back tracked and apologized
and said
I’m so sorry I was expecting a much larger dog……

We both laughed
and he is ok
with just a small mark on his nose
and a good lesson learned
not to say hello to strange old beagles

≈Laugh loudly, Love generously, Care deeply, Speak kindly≈

10 thoughts on “The Laugh

  1. Pingback: Lux et tenebræ II. Rose Saron (Light and Dark 002. Rose of Sharon). | The Arkside of Thought

    • It was too funny, this boy is an “Eddie Haskell” type 😀 One of the parents looked at me in horror when I started laughing…had to explain my way out of it. 😀 Quite embarassing actually, I mean really who laughs at a kid who’s been bitten by a dog ? 😀

    • Thanks it was really quite funny I just could not help myself, I was expecting him to say “bull mastiff”, “german shepperd”…….but a beagle? 😀 😀

    • I’m glad, I felt a little badly about it but this boy had such a great sense of humor and of course after teasing me about the stutter I couldn’t resist. 😀

  2. Pingback: Poem A Day Challenge #8 | The Ranting Papizilla

  3. Pingback: Poem A Day Challenge: Day #8 | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a Reply

