Your Banana May Contain……..

bananas-thumb

It’s becoming harder and harder  to know whats in and on our food!

Soy sauce may contain gluten;  ice cream may have tree nuts in it, salad mix may be tainted with E. coli.

But there are some foods that are so pure, so uncomplicated, that they are just what they are, right?

Like bananas.

NOT!

As Science Daily reports, scientists have come up with a new spray they say will prevent bananas from ripening into brown mush for almost two extra weeks.

What’s the big deal you ask?

Well, let me tell you,  the spray is made from chitosan, which is derived from the shells of shrimp and crabs.

Can you imagine the simple banana carrying a warning label “This product may contain shellfish byproducts.” If sprayed this lovely yellow, handy fruit would be  off-limits to hard-core vegans and to people who suffer from shellfish allergies.

The chitosan-based spray is not available commercially yet, so no bananas are being treated.

Personally I think they should leave well enough alone, bananas are great just the way they are, when they get too ripe their great for baking, smoothies and face masks 😀

Thoughts anyone?

Have a Happy Sunday

😀 😀

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Your Banana May Contain……..

  1. It would not be off limits to vegans unless they ate the peel. Imazalil penetrates the peel, is “likely carcinogenic”, and currently used on most bananas. Chitosan is probably much better for human health. Also, my understanding is that there is nothing wrong with gluten in your diet unless you have been told by a medical doctor that you should not consume it. I have done quite a bit of research into gluten.

    • This is true, I think it’s just the idea of fruit being sprayed with shellfish when your a “hard core” vegan seafood etc. totally out of bounds. In my childs school there are children with peanut allergies, we are not allowed to send any peanut products to school and if they eat any peanut product at home before school they need to wash their hands and faces to remove all traces…. I think this is the issue with food being sprayed with shellfish, for those that have an allergy/sensitivity. Imazalil is sprayed on fruit etc at a very low level I’ve read and I agree I’d rather it be sprayed with shellfish then a chemical 😀 There is nothing wrong with gluten either really unless you have an allergy or sensitivity, the soya sauce was just an example leading up to the rest of the “story” Thanks for you comments 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s