Mamas on the Soap box Again

I usually don’t have strong opinions or judge others on this blog or in my life, I am not trying to be
self-righteous and perfect
however……

😀

SoapBox

As most of you know I am a huge animal lover and have zero tolerance for any kind of animal abuse.

I don’t often voice strong opinions here, but I am doing it just this once 😀

On my way to work the news came on, I hate listening to the news, as I listened….I got goose bumps all over and chills went down my spine as my anger and disappointment rose.

A woman has been charged with cruelty to animals, for allegedly drowning a baby raccoon a public park in Midland on the Civic Holiday long weekend, the woman was seen submerging it in Little Lake, just off the beaten path, visitors to the park observed the woman one witness called police, although did not approach the woman.

Police officers responded to the scene, but the raccoon was already dead.

We are teaching our children to “Stand up to Bullies” to always do the right thing, get involved …children learn by example, so stand up and be pro active!

And yet “visitors” to the park stand idly by while someone is drowning an animal…?????

It wasn’t like she was wielding a machete or a semi automatic she was a 72-year-old woman!!

I would not have given it a second thought to approach!  How  could someone just stand there and watch something like this and know what the inevitable will be, there is no time to call the police!  These people should have acted immediately.

I know, I know it was just a menacing baby racoon….Hogwash!
and I know who am I to judge?

but

A couple of years ago the neighbours boys came over to show me some young kittens in a box.  I said “Oh they’re really sweet and so tiny, you better take them back to their mother, they’ll be getting cold and hungry”, they walked down the driveway and up the road towards their home, when I saw their mother walking towards them and yelling at the boys to “take that box up into the woods” as she’d told them…I looked at Paul and said “Did she just say what I think she said?”  We watched the boys come back with the box and head up the trail towards the woods, I walked towards them and said “What are you guys doing” they shrugged and kept walking , Mum was close behind, I asked again what they were doing with the box, they said “taking it into the woods”  I approached Mum, and well it wasn’t pretty or too civilized, I was floored at what was happening and could not control my anger, I took the box of kittens and brought them into the house, the next morning after a very long night we took them into the shelter.

What happened that day was so wrong on so many levels!!!

I think the boys knew this was wrong and wanted someone to stop it, that’s why they stopped here on their way, I told them quietly that they should never ever do something like this again, that it was wrong.  If they ever felt that they’d been asked to do something that they knew was wrong to say NO, no matter who it was.

I hope that one day things will change
and
“News” like this will not have to be told.

≈Laugh loudly, Love generously, Care deeply, Speak kindly≈

6 thoughts on “Mamas on the Soap box Again

  1. I am with you here.

    There is a commercial running on British TV from the’ World Wildlife Fund’ showing tigers being poached and killed. It is horrific. As a result I have just sponsored a tiger and give it to my partner for her birthday. We receive a magazines and update on ‘our’ tiger (in Nepal by the way) throughout the year. I thought this a much better use of money than buying the usual books/dvd’s/cd’s etc.

    • I think it’s a wonderful idea, friends of mine do something similar for friends and family each Christmas, it’s a much more meaningful gift that gives twice.
      Hope you have a wonderful weekend and your partner a fantastic birthday!!

      • Thank you.

        We’re off to St. Ives in Cornwall for the weekend and a wedding on Monday. Then it’s my partner’s ?? (BIG!) birthday the following weekend with 60 or so guests. Life isn’t always this exciting – I’ll be glad to get back to my slippers and whiskey. 🙂

  2. We walk through this world with blinders on, pretending we don’t see the things we see because we don’t want to get involved, because it doesn’t concern us. I’d like to say that I would have approached the lady drowning the raccoon, but I don’t know that I would have… It’s a sad statement to make, but at least I know that about myself and can strive to be better.
    And those little kittens. Who? Why? Do they not know about shelters? Did they even try to see if they could adopt out the kittens? I’m so glad you intervened!
    And I guess that’s the point… it may be messy, but we need to do what is right regardless. If I ever find myself in a similar situation I will try to remember that.

    • I completely agree with you!…this is something I feel so strongly about that I know I would have done something, I know that about myself, I also know that I often act on impulse and should work harder to “control” myself 😀 the kittens were so young only a few days old, I have no idea why they didn’t take them to the shelter once they got a little older, they must have just acted on an impulse as I did taking them from them. I have seen and heard so much about “bystanders” but as you have said, we need to do what is right regardless…
      Thanks for your wonderful comment.

Leave a Reply

