Finding Beauty and Awesomeness.

This post may be a little sappy, crazy or a little bit of both
or
maybe  you’ll agree  😀

camping etc 029

I’ve always noticed the beauty in everything around me, but lately I seem to be paying more attention and appreciating more.  I am starting to appreciate my friends and family even more than I did before, finding joy in the glitter on the snow at night when the moon is full, the silence outside early in the morning….what’s going on?   😀

We’ve received a ton of snow this winter and everyone has just about had it including myself, it seems to snow everyday and when it’s not snowing its brutally cold.  I still find myself looking at snow drifts and the way the snow hangs off the trees and roofs.  Looking at the moon when I’m out with the dogs and seeing nothing but blue all around me…and I love it!!  I’m smiling more, even if I see a funny looking vegetable at the grocery store I find my self smiling.

I was out on Friday night and it was cold and blowy, I was driving the kids to the dance that’s held every month ..  The wind was so strong it was blowing the snow across the highway , swirling and jumping across the highway and in the headlights it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen, I mentioned it the girls sitting in that back seat, they all just kind of groaned and went back to chatting and listening to music..I even noticed how the wind was blowing flags on the lamp posts around  town!  And again mentioned it to the girls and was greeted with more groans 😀

The more I think about it its a little bit like the book The Book of Awesome finding the little simple things in life that make us happy like warm underwear out of the dryer .  😀

I’ll have to admit its beginning to drive me a little crazy, everywhere I look I find something to appreciate. 😀

The author of The Book of Awesome Neil Pasricha says this:  “It’s easy to forget the things that make us smile.  With a 24/7 news cycle reporting that the polar ice caps are melting, hurricanes are swirling in the seas, wars are heating up around the world, and the job market is in a deep freeze, it’s tempting to feel that world is falling apart.  But awesome thins are all around us – sometimes we just need someone to point them out.”  he goes on to say “it seems like maybe these tiny little moments make an awesome difference in many of our rushed, jam-packed lives.  Maybe we all love snow days, peeling an orange in one shot, and popping bubble wrap.”

I think Neil and I must have had similar mothers 😀

I do have my mother to thank for this, growing up she’d always say oh look at this, look at that, look how the waves are coming up on shore, look up close at the dew on the grass blah blah blah 😀  When I was younger I’d say things like “yes mum, that flower is pretty” ” yes I see how pretty the moon is” and on and on, she was and still is forever taking photos, when we are camping or going for walks, out for dinner there is my mum, oh stop right there, oh that’s beautiful, I’ve got to take a picture.  😀

Mum finds beauty and awesomeness in everything too, she even sees the beauty in a sushi roll 😀

Sushi_rolls_by_lava_tomato

lava-tomato.deviantart.com

I now have a much greater appreciation for everything around me.  To see the beauty and the awesomeness in the little things.

Thank you Mum for showing me how to see the beauty in everyday things and people it is the best gift you’ve ever given me.

xoxoxo

6 thoughts on “Finding Beauty and Awesomeness.

  1. I too have a much great appreciation for the awesomeness and beauty all around me. I did when young, having come, like you, from an ‘artistic’ family (well your mother obviously was anyway), but the appreciation goes so much deeper now. Every tiny little thing. Keep on enjoying that snow Angie!

    • Both my mother and father are artistic and come to think of it so are my brother and sister, I do try and often don’t achieve 😀 And I am loving the snow though, I wish I could appreciate a beautiful white beach somewhere though 😀 😀

    • I never thought of it that way, I’m trying really hard to be serene, I think you my be right maybe I am trying to find that sense of calm in my life. 😀

  2. Does this mean your mother is off the hook for gifts i.e. Mother’s Day, etc from now on? I should let her know.

    This is a truly insightful blog and very touching. You are a thoughtful, caring, observant, sensitive, totally awesome daughter! xoxo

Leave a Reply

