Deer in the headlights…..

deer in headlights

It’s been a rough week, Pauls father passed away hours before my father, we both still have the “deer in the headlights” “what the heck just happened” feeling.

We are, along with our families deeply saddened at the loss of the two wonderful men we both called “Dad”.

We had a service for my dad on Sunday…

My daughter chose the following passage to be read on Sunday,  it couldn’t have been written more perfectly…

God saw he was getting tired and a cure was not to be,
So He put His arms around him and whispered “come with me”
With tearful eyes we watched him suffer,
And saw him fade away,
Although we loved him dearly,
We could not make him stay,
A golden heart stopped beating,
Hard working hands out to rest,
God broke our hearts to prove to us,
He only takes the best!

 

≈Laugh loudly, Love generously, Care deeply, Speak kindly≈

 

11 thoughts on “Deer in the headlights…..

  1. (((((((Angie))))))))
    (((((((Angie’s family))))))))
    So sorry for your loss, and Paul’s loss. How shocking it must be to lose both at the same time.
    May you both find all the support you need.
    The poem is perfect.
    Alison

    • Thank you Alison.. it is just unbelievable … we are both doing well and are taking turns being there for each other. xoxoxoxo We both have wonderful families and friends and each other and of course you 😀 😀
      xo

  2. I am so sorry to hear of your losses. I can only imagine what you two are going through, along with your families. I will hold you all in my heart and give you strength to get through this difficult time. My heart goes out to you today. If you need anything, let me know.

  3. I am sorry to read this too. This really is sad. But I’m glad you felt like sharing it on your blog. Following you for sometime and I always thought how much your family means to you. Take care.

    • Thank you, we are a pretty tough bunch 😀 Well at least we think we are … Was a difficult couple of weeks but I just feel truly blessed that he allowed us this time with him, it’s made the grieving process a little easier. xo

Leave a Reply

