Copy Cat Day!! – Lemon Honey Tea Mix

Just before Christmas I found a recipe for a Lemon Honey Tea Mix.

This is the best cold and flu drink I think I’ve ever had, I was looking for tea recipes and came across this one from the Lightly Crunchy blog site.

In a previous post my sister had made a similar tea .

 whole lemon and ginger tea with honey

I made up quite a few jars of this for Christmas gifts, my whole family loves it, and we’ve refilled our jar many times over the last couple of weeks.

lightlycrunchy.wordpress.com

The following is what I found on Lightly Crunchy:

You can find a similar product to the pre-mix that I made in Asian or Korean markets, called Yuja Cha. It’s like a citrus marmelade, but is used for hot teas or mixed with cold water for a summer drink. You can easily make some up yourself and because honey never goes bad, is antibacterial and a natural preservative, this will keep for months in the fridge. The components will break down over time and become more marmelade-like. I’ve read that some Korean households keep topping up the honey and lemon and keep the jar going continuously.

Honey Ginger Lemon Tea Mix

  • 1/4 to 1/2 of an organic lemon
  • fresh ginger
  • honey (raw)

Thinly slice the lemon and peel and thinly slice or mince the ginger (I used between 1-2 tsp of minced ginger, you can use your judgement about how much you’d like). I cut the slices into quarters to help them break down faster in the honey. Arrange the lemons (take out the seeds first) and ginger in layers in a clean, sterile jar and cover with honey. Refrigerate until needed. Use a large tbsp of the mixture in a mug of hot water to make tea.

Or if you just want to make yourself a quick mug of tea, you can use these measurements:

Honey Lemon Ginger Tea (1 mug)

  • 1 tbsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp honey

Put ginger in a small bowl and pour 1 cup boiling water over it. Allow it to steep for 5 minutes. Strain into a mug and add in lemon juice and honey. Add more honey, to taste, if needed.

To further kick it up a notch, add a shot of whisky and a pinch of cayenne. If it doesn’t cure what ails you, it might at least help you go to sleep.

8 thoughts on “Copy Cat Day!! – Lemon Honey Tea Mix

    • It is so good!! I’d forgotten that I put a little peice of honeycomb in the bottom of my neices jar, she eats the “leftovers” like candy! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed! 😀

  1. I am seriously obsessed with the tea you made us! I especially love when you use the “waxy honey” and eat it after haha

    • I glad you like it!!!! I forgot that I’d put that little piece of honeycomb in the bottom. Just made some more I keep switching up the recipe more lemon,more ginger!!!
      xoxoxoxo

  2. Pingback: Nature’s Flue Shots « Habari Gani, America!

  3. Pingback: Angies Grapevine | The glorious onion!

  4. Pingback: A Sick Haiku | Angies Grapevine

  5. Pingback: Honey Bomb! | Angies Grapevine

Leave a Reply

